Meet a FLATmate: Planting Perennials

IAN – Barefoot in the forest, that’s how you’ll find me. Back home in Western Washington that is. Out here in Montana my toes haven’t gotten quite as much air time as I’d like. In my first year here at UM, I was lucky enough to find the FLAT, which pretty much perfectly sums up my interests in life all in one house. I’ve always been a gardener, a lover of all things cob and clay, and I am more than ready to get my hands dirty learning about renewable energy and more sustainable living in general.

Within a week of graduating high school, I moved onto a big beautiful wooden sailboat, and after an amazing summer bouncing around the San Juan Islands, we set sail for Mexico. My last year was spent learning to splice rope and stitch sails, a far cry from the classrooms of this university, but the uninterrupted peace on a boat at sea gave me time to decide on my major in Environmental Studies and minor in International Development. Since moving here, I’ve spent as much time outside as I possibly can, exploring this rugged mountainous country that everybody except me seems to think is the West. The roots I plant here will be perennials for sure.

