Meet a FLATmate: String-picking and Corn-shuckin’

TESS

tess mug shotHailing from North Carolina for most practical purposes, I have an affinity for the Appalachians. Its rich porch-sitting, string-picking, and corn-shuckin’ are cultural traditions that greatly influenced my life and are values that I hold dear to my heart. The cliche, “work hard, play hard” is perhaps my aspired life motto. I aim to be diligent in my endeavors to improve my knowledge of and participation in athletic activities, cooking, music, etc. I also strive to make jokes constantly and make fun of myself often.

At the University of Montana, my focus is water resource management in Montana and the larger Western United States. I plan to pursue involvement in place-based collaborative natural resource management efforts when I complete my master’s degree. Living as a co-director at the FLAT is a great opportunity! I’m enjoying corroborating on appropriate technology projects with my FLATmates, and I am thankful for the experience to engage more with the university and larger Missoulian community- I dig this town.

“In order to live a fully human life we require not only control of our bodies (though control is a prerequisite); we must touch the unity and resonance of our physicality, our bond with the natural order, the corporeal grounds of our intelligence.” – ADRIENNE RICH

Leave a Reply

