Green houses, Poetry Readings, and Pizza, oh my!

Greetings friends,

This week at the FLAT has been another busy one. It almost seems like a prerequisite of living, working, and playing here is to be a very involved person. This has been my second year living at the forum, and I don’t exaggerate when I say that the experience has changed my life by exposing me not only to new people and ideas, but also to entirely new ways of living. Before living here I rarely considered where my food came from, or who worked to make it. Before living here I did not know how to care for chickens, or how delicious freshly laid eggs were. Nor did I know the amazing amount of things a dedicated group of six students and a handful of interns could accomplish when working in tandem.

But I digress.

This week was the last meeting of Wild Mercy, a series of poetry and short story readings in our back yard community workshop space, currently dubbed “The Cob Castle” but may be called by another name in the future. A good crowd always seemed to make it out to support the local talented writers. In the future I have high hopes that the Cob Castle will be used for a variety of purposes, from music concerts to Zen Buddhism workshops. Stay tuned for future events.

Last weekend I helped my house mate Dave with putting some finishing touches on our new green house, designed and mostly constructed by him. We’re all excited to start planting tomatoes and other goodies in there when the time comes!

I’m currently stuffed from a house dinner of gourmet pizza. You can’t beat sweet potato, caramalized onion, and peppered bacon pizza with a maple chipolte sauce. I borrowed the recipe from a local pizza place and have been stuck on it ever since. That’s another plus of living at the FLAT: we try to cook and eat at least one meal together a week. If one thing brings people together, it’s slow cooked, home made food.

Anyways, we have our weekly 8:00 AM meeting coming up in 7 hours and 49 minutes, so I best head to bed.

Happy trails,
Clay Springmeyer

Leave a Reply

